Aspiring to Progress…

January 28, 2010 at 10:19 am Leave a comment

So last night had high hopes and aspirations to make lots more progress on Cranford. Part of that progress included posting pictures here of my swatching. But that’ll have to wait till the weekend, I fear. I have knit just under 5 inches of the body all the way around. Considering that the sweater will be around 25 inches long from shoulder to hip, that means that I’ve done a sizable fraction of it. I’ve hit the raised lace pattern so no mindless knitting for me.

This is my current mindless knitting… recognize it? That is the gorgeous chilean yarn featured in my blog header so picturesequely with the sock DPNs sticking out. Araucania Ranco Multy. (BTW… I can no longer write the word “picturesque”, without laughing over that chapter in Anne of the Island, when she’s riding with that woman that pronouces it as “picture-skew”.)

Its hard for me to believe that a sock, for me, is mindless knitting. I remember almost crying over several sock patterns trying to wrap my mind around the concept of a heel. I have no idea how many heels I’ve torn out. But after years of thinking I would never learn, my Aunt gave me confidence… and with a little help from Holly Shaltz I finally figured it out… now I rarely use a pattern, especially if the socks are pretty basic. And with yarn like this? Who wants to muddy up the beauty with a lace pattern you’ll have to fix 204 times before you’re done.

Cranford pictures will come, I promise.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Cranford Sweater: Knitting Commenced Keeping Busy

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 50,137 hits

