Thoughts on heels and photography

March 5, 2010 at 12:29 pm 3 comments

I’m rounding the bend (quite literally) on my last sock (I should say the second sock, it’s not like I was making one for each of my three feet). I want to take a picture and show off the gorgeous simplicity of the best heel I think I’ve ever turned. But I’m done posting pictures from my phone. I’ve decided to implement strict quality control of all pictures on this blog. Yesterday, I posted a gorgeous picture from knit picks of their beautiful yarn. I was stunned with how the high quality of the picture just made the blog feel so much cleaner and homeier when you first opened it. Compare that to the schematic entry about a month ago with the terrible picture from my phone. I have a gorgeous Nikon D40 my husband gave me. I need to use it.

I also am sick of feeling like a bad picture is better than no picture. When I put up bad pictures of my knitting, I almost feel ashamed of the work I did. Just because I know that the socks are knit out of a gorgeous hand-painted green and purple superwash, doesn’t mean it won’t look like knitting mud when the picture is posted. I don’t knit knitting mud, so why would I want to post a picture of it. And again, to reference the point above. It’s not like I don’t have the technology.

It’s a matter of excellence. I strive for excellence in my knitting because it’s one way God designed me to reflect his character in the world around me. As I design and create beautiful things out of yarn, I reflect the God that designed and created beautiful things out of nothing. Pretty Cool.

So in this blog, as I like to talk about and show the things I’m doing in my knitting world. I want to show excellence in how I present that. I want to knit the things that show the highest degree of skill I have. I want to take pictures that represent that correctly. Pictures that pick up the gorgeous subtlety of the various hues of purple and green, and hints of pink and brown. Not so I can show off what an amazing knitter I am, (there is much I don’t know, or have never tried) but so that I can bring attention and glory to the God who is the author of beauty.

Entry filed under: Random Thoughts. Tags: , , , .

Isn’t it stunning? Our Anniversary Weekend

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa Hightower  |  March 5, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    I totally feel you about the photography thing. My sister gave me a decent point-and-shoot for my graduation, but I kept using my iPhone for photos because it was easier to upload directly from my phone than it was to pull out the camera cord and connect it for only a few pictures. I had to force my self to stop being lazy, especially when I started my new blog.

    What I really want is an eye-fi memory card for my camera that auto-magically uploads the pictures after you take them. It has a wi-fi connection that takes care of it all for you, no wires or anything. I keep hoping someone will give me one as a present. I still lust over it every time I go into Best Buy to get something else.

    Reply
    • 2. mgy37  |  March 5, 2010 at 1:45 pm

      I’ve never heard of one of those, which is scary since I’m in IT. I’ll have to look into that. It just takes way too long to take the picture, wrestle the computer from my husband playing StarCraft, and post them on my blog. However, it’s worth the effort. I just need to put it in. But a wi-fi card could help a lot.

      Reply
  • 3. asmplelife  |  March 7, 2010 at 8:13 am

    You’re blog will end up turning into a photography blog! It’s an addictive hobby. =]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 50,137 hits

