Putting up peas, a homey little task

June 8, 2010 at 1:20 pm 1 comment

I’m so excited. I froze my first batch of peas from my own garden this weekend. It was a whopping 4 small freezer bags. But still. Its from my garden, and I can use them in stir-fries in the depths of winter when spring seems a hundred years away. I’ve actually picked and froze another 2 bags since then, and there are still more to come. So I have high hopes for at least 4-6 more bags. Not to mention what I’ll get from the fall crop I’ll plant in August.

It’s such a fun little task. Picking peas. Washing them. Snapping off the top. Blanching them. And finally portioning them in freezer bags to use to make a tasty stir-fry for Chuck.

Tomatoes are coming next! I already have a couple small green ones. I love the summer.

Entry filed under: Other Life Stuff. Tags: , , , .

Our Bees Came! An elegant little idea

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. asmplelife  |  June 8, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    The peas look good. Our garden is just getting going. How nice that you have such a long growing season!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 50,137 hits

