Autumn, the time of knitting inspiration

October 15, 2010 at 9:30 am Leave a comment

I used to not really like the fall. I lived in an area where it dropped from 90 degrees to below 60 it what seemed like a matter of weeks. I remember the year I “boycotted” November. I just refused to wear a winter coat, I just wasn’t ready for it yet. But it seems like since I really got thoroughly entrenched in my knitting hobby, I haven’t disliked fall nearly so much. It’s time to start knitting for christmas. It’s time to start day-dreaming about the perfect sweater to cuddle up in, or a shawl to throw over the back of your chair for chilly evenings. This year I actually had the presence of mind to start a cuddly alpaca sweater in May. There was no rush, I just poked along on it for a few months and in September, voila! I had a delightful sweater waiting for the first chilly days. It was such an opposite feeling to be anxiously waiting for the first day I could justify wearing a 100% alpaca sweater instead of dreading the days I had to put my brightly colored tees away.

I also feel more inspired to design my own things in the fall. It took an act of faith to start a sweater in May. In the fall, all I can think about is what the next sweater will be that I make. The design of this alpaca sweater is such a huge success that it’s all I can do to keep from designing six more similar to it so i have a slightly different but equally comfortable one to wear every day. I’m thinking a lighter weight one out of superwash instead of alpaca. The alpaca can get a tad warm. And gray. It must be gray i think.

Fall is wonderful. The sun is still beautiful, the air is clear. The brilliantly blue sky is bordered with vibrant reds, yellows, and greens. With the accompanying chilly air, how could a knitter not be inspired to make all the things they need to stay warm while enjoying these days of stunning beauty.

Entry filed under: Knitting. Tags: , , .

Who are my readers? Freezing your Buns off is the Mother of Knitwear Design

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 50,137 hits

