Freezing your Buns off is the Mother of Knitwear Design

October 18, 2010 at 9:19 am Leave a comment

Its officially fall. Oh, I know I was going on and on about how beautifiul fall is the other day, and it is. You’d think that a blog post waxing poetical would sorta mean that it’s officially fall. However, we’d missed the inagural event. I hadn’t yet had my annual freeze my buns of session because I under dressed because I hadn’t taken fall and it’s low temperatures seriously yet. That happend this weekend. My dear friend got married this past weekend.  It was a beautiful outdoor wedding, and I was so excited for her. She’s waited a good long time for this day, and I was so delighted to witness the event. BUT…the tempurature was way lower than I expected. I wore pantyhose, one of my warmer but still short sleeved dress, and had a cute black wrap. Totally didn’t cut it. By the time the ceremony was over Chuck was taking off his coat and draping it around me shoulders. By the end of the evening, I was so cold I was getting a bit dizzy and nautious. Wierdest thing I’ve ever experienced.

Side note: Can I just say I love being married. Instead of panicing and wondering what was going on and continuing to marinate in the cold and just get sicker. My wonderful husband carefully guided me straight into the house, found the shuttle back to our car and got me warm as quickly as humanly possible. Once I was warm I was so much better. Like I said, wierd.

One of my friends there, who also happened to be a bridesmaid, was much more prepared for the evening. She had the most beautiful hand-knit mohair stole that matched her dress perfectly. I was inspired. I’m a knitter, and I don’t have a single elegant artical of clothing for just such a time. What’s wrong with this picture? This must be fixed.

So yesterday was spent with some blueberry suri dream prototyping a shrug. I only had the blue on hand, but if it works as I am hoping, I’ll be making another in black to go with my more formal dresses. I’ve never actually knit with that yarn. I’ve had a ball on hand to play with for a while, but not really done anything with it. I feel like I’m knitting a cloud, it’s just so unbelievably soft. The best part about it is that I think I can make about 50% – 70% of the shrug with just one ball. That means that I can get a whole gorgeous alpaca/wool shrug for under $12!

Entry filed under: Knitting. Tags: , , , , , .

Autumn, the time of knitting inspiration Quick Knits? Meh…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 49,810 hits

