A Welcome Break

October 22, 2010 at 9:50 am Leave a comment

You know how you have those knitting phases where you have the frogging touch? Everything you knit has to be frogged over and over, or even worse, completely scrapped and started over? Yeah, it’s been one of those months. I kid you not, even my socks weren’t behaving. I have some christmas knitting that is pretty challenging. They and I are going to have to sit down and have a little chat this weekend to see why we’re not getting along so well. It may be because I’m not giving it the stitch marker or life-line attention a lace shawl needs. But conflict is never, ever my fault. So that can’t possibly be the reason I don’t end up with the right number of stitches at the end of every 3-4 rows.

In the meantime I’ve been trying to start a pair of socks for some sanity knitting. But seriously, I’ve started three pairs of socks with the same yarn, Knit Picks Stroll Tonal in the Queen Anne colorway, and it wasn’t till the third try that I got farther than 2 inches down the leg. The third time was truly the charm. I’m absolutely soaking up the peace and calm that only a knitting project that’s going very, very well can bring. I started wednesday night and I’ve finished the heel gusset this morning. They’re speeding right along. I love the pattern too. I’m really, really picky about sock patterns. I knit socks because they’re portable, I can knit them without a pattern, and because I can work on them in public places without confusing myself. That means I really don’t prefer complicated patterns. I like an occasional lace pattern, but if I’m having to countstitches for much more than dividing for the heel, it’s probably not going to be a good pattern for my sock knitting contexts. The problem is, I really don’t like to be bored either, and only knit plain socks forever and ever. This motif  I came up with was perfect. The picture doesn’t show it well at all, but all I did was make a super basic sock with little diagonal rows of eyelets, they add interest to the appearence and to the knitting without distracting me from whatever public place I’m in. It’s great.

So I’m enjoying the welcome break. Hopefully the shawl and I can resolve our differences soon. It’s a goreous shawl, and it’s really just the one chart out of the 4 that’s giving me problems. I look forward to amicably settling this conflict and moving on to the third chart.

Entry filed under: Knitting. Tags: , .

Shopping Habits A Knitter’s Milestone

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 50,139 hits

