A Knitter’s Milestone

October 23, 2010 at 6:54 am 2 comments

So when you’re learning to knit, and working on smaller projects, there’s this anticipation for the day when you’ll finish your first sweater. But then you make your first sweater, and for whatever reason, you don’t like it. Bad color, bad fit, you name it. So the real knitters milestone is when you make the first sweater that you like.

Meet the Reformation Day sweater. My first sweater that I like. It’s knit from the bottom up, with seamless set in sleeves, and a shawl collar. It’s made out of 100% alpaca, DK weight, which I picked up at the carolina fiber festival from misty mountain farm. Absolutely beautiful to knit with.

It turned out exactly how I wanted. I wanted something that was shaped to be comfortable but still classy. Something I could throw over a basic tee with a pair of jeans on a gloomy day and cuddle up in, but still keep an element of class to my appearance. It’s exactly that. It’s perfect to throw on first thing in the morning before it warms up a bit. Fall mornings can be pretty chilly, even if the highs do go into the 80s.

I’m pleased as punch. 🙂

Entry filed under: Knitting. Tags: , , .

A Welcome Break I just want one

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. asmplelife  |  October 24, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    What a beautiful sweater! You did a great job….I still haven’t made one I like yet…

    Reply
  • 2. Melynda  |  October 25, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    Beautiful! No wonder it’s getting so much use 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 49,808 hits

