Of Socks and Coffee

November 2, 2010 at 9:08 am 1 comment

I finished those adorable little pink socks while on traveling for work last week. Aren’t they cute? I finished them on the first night of the trip which makes them the first pair I finished within one week. I’m very proud.

Then catastrophe struck. I brought the wrong needles for my next set of socks. All of my disappointment on that episode was shared here last friday. Well I got home, grabbed the right needles before a youth group administration team meeting, and before I knew it I was 2 inches into the leg again, this time with the right gauge. I truly swear I knit the first one on #2 needles, how could my gauge have changed such that I needed to go down a whole size to get the SAME gauge. Very annoying. Whatever, they’re coming along great now.

Also. I’m drinking black coffee. I can’t tell you how much this messes with my head. I’ve been drinking coffee since 5th grade. My mom used to get on my case with how much cream and sugar I put in. I gradually grew up and didn’t require quite as much sugar, but nowhere near black. Then last week suddenly I was drinking black coffee. I blame my friend from church. At a picnic last week, she and her husband brought coffee in a thermos, but no cream and sugar. They offered some to the rest of us. I was pretty desperate for a cup so I had some. It was delicious. It’s been a slippery slope since. In my hotel room every night last week I made some of that coffee in the little hotel coffee maker, and since I really don’t like the powdered creamer too much, I just drank it black. Now I don’t even put cream or sugar in at home. It’s like my sweet tooth is completely gone. Like I said it’s messing with my head. That and my potato chip obsession. But that’s another story for another day.

Entry filed under: Knitting. Tags: , , , .

This is how it always goes Visions of Christmas Decorations Dance in My Head

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Joani  |  November 2, 2010 at 10:48 am

    The socks are beautiful-almost as pretty as the red ones you made me that I just love.
    About the black coffee-both you and your sister have changed
    and I’m sure it is easier to drink it that way. It is still so fun pouring out of little creamers and sweet little sugar bowls-it’s all just part of the joys of being with someone when you share a cup. I will still put them out with pretty little napkins Gramma gives me and little biscuits and we will be thankful to be together however we dink it alone!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 50,139 hits

