Designing Word Templates

February 12, 2011 at 12:22 pm Leave a comment

The last couple days have been kind of different. As mentioned in my previous post, I got the new intwined studio software package for doing some chart generation. The same day I got my copy of Office:Mac 2011 for handling my final pattern layout design. So it’s been a bit more about getting my software requirements set up and less about designing, knitting, and sizing garments and accessories.

It’s been a blast though. The best part about doing knitwear design is that I can employ lots of different skill sets, but I don’t have to do any of them 100% of the time. I get to do some graphic design both for my website and my patterns, I get to do photography, some web design and development, and occasionally some knitting. 🙂 This is perfect for me, because any one of those things would bore me to tears if that’s all I did every day. But I actually do enjoy perfecting an amateur level of skill in all of them.

I spent yesterday afternoon and this morning creating a Word template for my pattern downloads. This will make the individual pattern design process much simpler. There is already a standard font, color scheme, set of shapes, and layout. All I have to do is create a few text boxes, paste in the pattern instructions, pull in a few photos, tweak the photo layout so that it works with the text, and it’s done. No reinventing the wheel every time I go to do a pattern layout.

I think it turned out really, really cute.

Entry filed under: My Designs. Tags: , , , , .

Tools of the Trade:Intwined Business Analyst Turned Knitter

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Blog Stats

  • 49,587 hits

