A Garden Detour

February 24, 2011 at 9:15 am 1 comment

I’m going to lead off today with an apology to any of my northeastern family who follows my blog. The hints of spring are everywhere here in the sunny south, we’re starting to get warm days again and the garden planning is in full force. So, my snowbound new-englanders, I’m about to make you very, very jealous. 🙂 I’m very sorry.

To my knitting friends, yes, I’m still knitting and I’m still designing. I worked my little fingers to the bone on Monday, while listening to about 7 hours of Bleak House by Dickens, trying to finish a sample that would not cooperate, and still isn’t. I’m also discovering the hard reality that it’s tough to design and blog at the same time.

Disclaimers, excuses, and apologies aside, It’s Spring! Chuck and I are in full swing on our garden. It was so fun to reallize this is our third year of spending our spring working along side each other in our garden. And every year is so much better than the last.

We have very lofty plans this year. We’re taking advantage of my staying at home to expand our goals and expectations for the garden. Our goal is to make this garden actually have a significant impact on our food bill over the winter. So we’re focusing very heavily on potatoes, tomatoes and onions, since we seem to go through lots of those. But my dear southern husband loves his greens, so we must have spinach and yes, we’re growing turnips. Other than adding a few containers, we’re keeping the garden proper the same size, however since we’re switching to the Square Foot Gardening method, I feel like our garden has quadrupaled in size. I won’t lie, it’s a bit overwhelming.

To combat this feeling, I’m focusing on the early cold-weather crops exclusively for the moment, specifically the onions and potatoes. I’m still looking around for a variety of onion sets that stores well and is reasonably priced, as the section we’ve set aside for the onions is quite large and I’ll be needing a lot of them. But I have my potatoes all figured out. I’m going to grow mine in containers. I found this article that covered the basics without being too detailed. I looked around for some bushel baskets as that’s what the article recommends, but I didn’t come up with anything and I needed them fairly quickly. Enter Wal-Mart. While we were there last night looking at their seeds and potato and onion sets, I looked at their gardening containers, at their storage containers and nothing was the right size or shape. I turned the corner and I found these perfect 2 bushel sized laundry baskets in bright, cheerful colors. I had kinda avoided the laundry basket idea, thinking it was a little more red-necked than I cared to go. But these were perfect. And only $5 a piece. So for a total of $26 we got potato sets and containers and are well on our way to harvesting at least 2 bushels of potatoes for the winter. Best part is, we won’t have to buy any of that again. You can save potatoes and use them for seed next year, and of course the laundry baskets can be reused.

 

I’m really excited about turning our garden into more than a hobby, because let’s face it, that’s an expensive hobby, even if it is wholesome and good for my character. I’m hoping for homemade, homegrown pasta sauce, and french fries all winter long.

Entry filed under: Gardening. Tags: , , .

Business Analyst Turned Knitter Choosing Colors for Handknits

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Catherine  |  February 24, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    I remember living in the North East of England where Spring is 6 weeks later and Autumn 6 weeks earlier than the rest of the country brrrr.

    Now we live in the South…

    Good luck with your gardenning

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Blog Stats

  • 50,137 hits

