My Favorite Soundtrack

March 7, 2011 at 8:03 am 1 comment

About 6 years ago, I heard a song on a compilation CD of some top christian hits. Oddly enough I’d never heard it before.

It was my first introduction to the band Caedmon’s Call, a band that would serve as the soundtrack to many very important moments in the next few years. The rich doctrines of the grace of God that they infuse into all of their witty lyrics and pleasant and talented accompaniment have made their music tirelessly relevant to some of the most challenging and wonderful moments of my life as a believer.

It was their song “My Only Hope” that got put on repeat during the times when I was facing failure that I thought I would never recover from.

Depth of mercy can there be
Mercy still reserved for me
Can my God, your wrath forbear
Me the cheif of sinners, spare

It’s my only hope
You’re my only hope
It’s my only hope of Heaven
At the cross forgiven

…And it was “Lead of Love” that I would play over and over as I praised God for all the good that came from that difficult time.

Looking back at the road so far
The journey’s left its share of scars
Mostly from leaving the narrow and straight

Looking back it is clear to me
That a man is more than the sum of his deeds
And how You’ve made good of this mess I’ve made
Is a profound mystery.

Then I met someone else who loved this wise, humble, and folksy band of musicians. Turns out his favorite song was “Somewhere North”, a rather artistic song describing the singers feelings for a woman living out-of-town somewhere north.

I may never find the sleep
I’ve lost all feeling in my hands and
Feet may touch the ground but
My mind’s somewhere north of here

And only a few months later, I walked down the aisle to meet this man in the front of our church, to the music of the first song I’d ever heard by this band.

Is this the strange feeling
Of you working all to good
‘Cause I am so confused
I don’t even ask for what I should

When I asked for and deserved a stone
You broke and gave your body as bread
And even the stone that dropped down and rolled away
Spoke of the one who bled

There you go working good from my bad
There you go making robes from my rags
There you go melting crowns from my calves
There you go working good of all I have
Till all I have’s not that bad

Through all of my failure leading up to this event, God had made the gospel so very clear to me. He paid for and redeemed it all. I was not only forgiven, I was his child, a child who he chose to bless with a best friend to walk out the rest of her life with.

Happy Anniversary my Dear!! God has indeed been good to us!

 


Entry filed under: Other Life Stuff. Tags: , , .

Choosing Colors for Handknits Random Monday

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Christopher  |  March 9, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    Ya I’ve heard that song. I haven’t heard it in a long time, but it is good. God Bless!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 50,137 hits

