My Opinion on Scarves…

March 15, 2011 at 12:00 pm 6 comments

…is simple. They take way, way too long.

I’m currently in the middle of pushing through my very first scarf. Yes, I’ve been knitting since I was 7 (that’s almost 20 years) and never made a scarf. After the first swatch or two, I skipped straight to mittens. The endless knitted highway that is the garter stitch scarf scared the willies out of me. The incessant boredom of each row being exactly the same as the last, and no matter how many rows you did, they never seemed to make the scarf get any longer, this was too ominous a fate for a bright eyed excited new knitter.

So I knit away on mittens, baby sweaters, socks, tank tops and cardigans, while occasionally glancing covetously at the garter stitch scarves that less experienced but more persistent knitters than I had managed to finish.

I made an attempt last year on Laura Nelkin’s Eventide scarf. But to no avail, it’s sitting in my frog pile. It was a beautiful pattern and wonderful yarn, and I still would love to have that scarf, but after 8 inches, the boredom  of doing the same six rows over and over was overwhelmingly convincing that I should pick up another project.

Until now…

Without giving out toooooo much detail (hint, hint), I’m forced to finish this beautiful lacy little slip of a spring scarf for reasons we will not mention here. And while the visions of having this little extra warmth around my neck on a 40+ degree spring day are charming and delightful, the endless eight row repeat may be the death of me.

If I survive the boredom, I’ll be sure to let you know if it was worth it.

Am I the only one who finds this repetition so repulsive????

 

Entry filed under: Other Life Stuff.

Random Monday A Belated Random Monday

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Catherine  |  March 15, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    I remember so well pulling at my garter stitch scarf to try and make it long enough to go around my neck. As I also dropped stitches it was irregular shaped too. I don’t mind a bit of repetition now as long as I have TV or radio at the same time.

    If you are on ravelry, see my paper chain scarf http://www.ravelry.com/projects/chopkins2011/paperchain-scarf a bit bonkers but I did not get bored!

    Reply
    • 2. elegant economy  |  March 16, 2011 at 7:13 am

      That is a bit bonkers, and I could see why that was not a boring project. Very fun idea!

      Reply
  • 3. Christine Guest  |  March 15, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    I made my husband a herringbone scarf knit on the bias – if it weren’t for that eor increase and decrease I would have thrown the fool thing out the bus window – even though bus knitting does need to be easy.

    He loved the scarf, but he lost it by the end of the winter. I’ve never made another scarf.

    Reply
    • 4. elegant economy  |  March 16, 2011 at 7:11 am

      Ouch, I could see that putting a bit of a damper on my scarf knitting!

      Reply
  • 5. Lise Mendel  |  March 20, 2011 at 7:03 am

    I had that same apprehension about knitting a lace pullover for my daughter (on size 4 needles), but ended up loving the yarn so much it worked out for me. YMMV.

    Reply
    • 6. elegant economy  |  March 23, 2011 at 6:32 pm

      Amazing how yarn love can conquer all. Patterns that seem less than fun are suddenly your hearts delight if the right yarn is present. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 49,810 hits

