Other knitterly endeavors

April 12, 2011 at 11:24 am 5 comments

So last weeks debut release was not the only triumph I experienced last week. For the last year, I’ve had hints from some ladies at church that they’d like to knit. So I finally got my ducks in a row and set up a knitting class. There are three ladies in it, all dear friends. Last thursday was our first lesson. I was really nervous! I don’t feel like I’m a very good teacher, and since I’ve been knitting so long, I fear that I don’t have a very good perspective on what it feels like to learn the very basics of the knit stitch. But I really do want to be able to teach knitting competently, and what better place to start than a group of willing friends who are very aware of my weaknesses?
To overcome my nervousness, I planned out exactly what we would go over in each of the three sessions. I ordered all the yarn and needles so all the ladies would have the same materials. I practiced the knitted on cast on, which I don’t normally use, but I’ve heard is a good starting cast on for a new knitter. I tried to set my expectations for how confused they would be, so that I wouldn’t get impatient, and so that I wouldn’t try to move them too fast, making them impatient with me!
My plan walking into the first lesson was to get them through the cast on. If that’s all we did, I’d be happy. After getting coffee, and chatting for a bit, we dove in. I was shocked at how quickly these ladies picked it up! By the end of the evening, we were sitting and chatting while they zipped through their first dishcloth, with hardly any questions for me. I couldn’t believe it. And they were having fun too!
The next morning, when checking my usual blogs I found this on my friends blog. It was so fabulous to have actually had a hand in the development of a new knitter. I’m now trying to put together some good easy knitting patterns for our next lesson, since all the ladies are about two lessons ahead of where I thought they would be! Since two of the ladies are expecting, I’m writing up some simple instructions for baby booties and a hat.

What was the first pattern you all ever followed?

Entry filed under: Knitting. Tags: .

*Sigh*!!! Versus

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Catherine  |  April 12, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    A duck! Yarn from my mother’s stash and a pattern from Woman magazine about 1963

    Reply
  • […] up some simple instructions for baby booties and a hat. … … Read the original here: Other knitterly endeavors « Elegant Economy ← Behind 150 KNIT & CROCHET MOTIFS: Q&A with Author Heather Lodinsky […]

    Reply
  • 3. Kendal  |  April 12, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    We were/are a fantastic teacher! You have brought out the hidden knitter in me! Can’t wait until our next lesson!!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Kendal  |  April 12, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    oops, I meant “you”

    Reply
  • 5. Deb  |  April 12, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    A baby blanket that incorporated, a long tail cast-on, using 2 strands of worsted yarn, size 13 straight needles, counting and placing markers for the knit and purl stitches pattern and of course, binding off.
    On the third row, I knew I was in trouble…..I was completely obessed and thoroughly addicting to knitting before the row was completed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 50,139 hits

