The Love of Knitting

April 17, 2011 at 3:09 pm 4 comments

I’ve expressed frequently on this blog my insecurites as a knitting teacher. I feel like people I try to teach get easily frustrated and discouraged. I’ve often attributed these negative feelings to a failure of some kind on my part as a teacher to adequately explain the knit and purl stitch in a way that was sufficiently easy to understand. Untill the last two weeks that is. I mentioned in my last post that the ladies in my church knitting class have absolutely gone to town with their knitting, far surpassing any expectations I had for them walking into the first class.
I’ve beeen asking myself why this class was so different, why didn’t these ladies get all confused, crumple it into a ball and walk away? I think the reason is this….
Teaching someone a skill is challenging, teaching them to love it is impossible. Loving a skill is what makes it easy to learn.
It’s been true for me as I learn more and more advanced skills, and it’s been true for these ladies as we’ve moved from cast on, to knit stitch, to bind off, and further.

Entry filed under: Other Life Stuff.

Versus Back to The Drawing Board

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christine Guest  |  April 17, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    I’ve never managed to teach anyone to knit. I think partly it’s because I can learn from imitating a book and moving my hands in my imagination. But I can’t tell someone else to do that! I have to learn how someone else learns, and then respectfully help them do it…maybe someday.

    Reply
  • 2. Kendal  |  April 17, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    Maria, you are an amazing teacher, and because of you I have found my new hobby. I can’t wait for our next lesson!

    Reply
  • 3. Betsy  |  April 17, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    What an inspiration you are to me! I recently had a “craft” day at our house for ladies from church. I taught two new ladies to knit, one to crochet and our paster also came to learn to knit. Now that was a challenge! His ring size is 18! Huge hands! We had a blast. Mark-with eleven women that day! He is a very good sport. He said wanted to see what we were doing that was so much fun. He kept hearing it mentioned around the church and saw people with knitting bags everywhere. Long story short, he knitted 3 PERFECT rows that day! Wish I had been able to learn that quickly. Now he wants me to show him how to make a dishcloth. (I usually keep him and his wife stocked up in dishcloths.) I think he’s found a new hobby.

    Reply
  • 4. Blythe  |  April 18, 2011 at 7:52 am

    Hi Maria! Wonderful patterns. So glad I found you. On the teaching subject, I recently tried to teach my daughter’s girl scout troop. Frustrating would be an understatement, but two of them really took to knitting. Although it will require lots of practice and patience, it reminded me of when I first started to knit as a child and then an adult. It is frustrating at first, but the love comes with time and practice! Keep at it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 50,137 hits

