An Overdue Finished Object

May 17, 2011 at 11:04 am 3 comments

My entire knitting life from January to the end of March was consumed with designing my debut release. With all those samples knit and the patterns released. I turned to finishing a few overdue projects. I’d promised my sister a shawl for Christmas last year, and it just didn’t happen. It was the first lace shawl I’d cast on for (though not the first one I finished). Well, after many “I ran out of yarn” episodes, I finished it and shipped it off to my dear little sis yesterday.

The first section knit up like a dream. The leaf pattern was really easy to memorize. I met my waterloo in the blue snowflake section though. The pattern really didn’t have a recognizable flow to it that I could memorize. Just a lot of little random yarn overs for snow flakes. Keeping track of stitch count was a bear and a half. I ran out of a specific color three times, (I knit really loosely), and had to alter some of the charts to require a few less rows than called for, but the shawl still ended up HUGE. Which is perfect. My sis lives up north where the winters can be gray, dreary, and very, very long. I’m hoping this shawl will be used to curl up with tea and a good book.

Raveled here.

Entry filed under: Knitting. Tags: , , .

Coming up with Something Reknitting

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rose  |  May 19, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    This is stunning! I know your sister will enjoy it. My sisters keep asking me for projects, too. I will probably wait to make them a major project until they stop growing.

    Love,
    Rose

    Reply
  • 2. Joani Brown  |  May 19, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    It is even more beautiful than this picture and this picture makes it look beautiful. She indeed has curled up with this, tea, and a good book. Amazing job!

    Reply
  • 3. asmplelife  |  May 23, 2011 at 6:25 am

    That is absolutely gorgeous. Love it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 50,139 hits

