Counting is a Must

May 28, 2011 at 4:03 pm 1 comment

I learned something yesterday. Counting and basic addition skills are an absolute necessity to being a good knitter. Now, I thought I knew that already, and since I did graduate from elementary school, thought I had a good enough grasp of these pre-requisites.
Not so much. I had a 9 hour car-ride yesterday. I had hoped to use that to finish my sample knit of Silverlight. I got two rows into it and something was off. I was missing stitches and the front of the tank wasn’t symmetrical anymore. Now I really, really hate these sorts of findings. Where everything leading up to a section looks right, but that section is horribly, horribly wrong. These are the sorts of errors that make you wonder if you even cast on the right number of stitches. To make it all much, much worse and to add to the demotivation that was mounting at a rapid pace, I was having some serious issues with my allergies. My brain was foggy, my nose was running, and the sneezing was getting violent. This is not the best state of mind to be in when trying to comprehend, let alone fix what feels like a catastrophic mistake.
I counted a couple different times and a couple different ways and came up with a missing five stitches. After much deliberation and a good night’s sleep it seemed necessary to rip and start all over. I was less than motivated to start. So I sat on the couch twiddling my thumbs pretending to ignore the project. Then it hit me! I had totally messed up my basic addition and subtraction. I did a quick check and then I checked it again. Sure enough, it all added up. What was once a mistake requiring a complete restart now only required me to rip out 14 rows. The root of the issue? I mistook 8 decreases for 4. *Sigh*
Moral of the story? Make sure you’re not doped up on allergy meds and sneezing out brain cells before assuming you’ve made such a catastrophic mistake.

Entry filed under: Knitting.

Filler Knitting Spelling is Good Too

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Catherine  |  May 30, 2011 at 10:56 am

    What sometimes defeats me is the instruction to ‘decrease 13 stitches evenly over the next row’

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 49,808 hits

