Spelling is Good Too

June 1, 2011 at 10:29 am 3 comments

Remember when you told your teacher in 5th grade spelling that spelling was dumb because we would all have computers with spellcheckers on it? My hand is raised.

Turns out the general ability to spell is a good skill to have, as I discovered last week. I was updating my twitter profile to say that I was an independent knitwear designer. I was typing along, when the red squiggly line appeared, laughing in my face that I was 26 years old and still didn’t know how to spell independent. (I had spelled it “independant” with an “A”.)

My heart stopped. I had just ordered business cards two weeks ago, and I was pretty dang sure I spelled it wrong there too. I scrambled for my card case, and there staring up at me from those beautiful cards I’d worked so hard on was the oh so mis-spelled “independAnt”. I was crushed. I had spent hours designing those cards. They were perfect. They had my favorite Cranford quote on them and everything. I’d even handed out a few at our local fiber festival. How disappointing, how infuriating! The worst part was, that I had specifically checked the box that said, I had reviewed it and all spelling errors, etc were my problem, not the printing company’s.

So after mourning my mistake and the beautiful lost cards for a few days, I ordered more. I skipped the printing of the quote to save a few pennies. I can’t tell you how much it burned to spend an additional $17 on cards I already had and weren’t even as good as the originals, just because I was too arrogant to double check every single word on my card.

Seems the theme of the week is that paying attention in elementary school pays off, quite literally.

Entry filed under: Knitting. Tags: , .

Counting is a Must The extent of my current knitting

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kendal  |  June 1, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    I am the worst speller on the planet and my blog will sadly attest to that! It doesn’t catch many of my spelling errors, so sadly they go undetected! 🙂
    Just today I spelled “rifle” with 2 f’s. Lovely!

    Reply
  • 2. BekahD  |  June 1, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    Call me next time you want something proofread. I am your educational opposite. I always notice spelling mistakes, but don’t have nearly your creative energy. God makes us different for a reason 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Amber Scott  |  June 10, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    we all do it…I miss mine all the time and trying to help my six year old learn well that is a whole other kit and caboodle…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 49,610 hits

