And she’s on a roll ladies and gentlemen!!

July 12, 2011 at 1:54 pm Leave a comment

See this?!?!

Yes, you are seeing what you think you are seeing. Not one, not two, but three projects that I’m zipping through. I’m in love with all of these yarns.

On the far left, is Wolle’s Yarn Creations in the Golden Spring colorway. This is a 100% cotton, fingering weight, 4-ply yarn and knit up in #2 needles, but we all know how loosely I knit. This is going to be a baby garment and I’m loving this plain stockinette knitting punctuated with color changes and decreases. A perfect brainless knit, something I really needed to have in my project bag.

In the middle is Berroco’s Glint in the Goddess colorway. This project incorporates an interesting combination of increases and ribbing. I love, love, love projects with interesting shaping, and while this is simple, the shaping method is very interesting and I’m having a blast.

On the far left are some swatches in Berroco’s Lustra, a 50/50 wool/tencel blend worsted weight yarn. This serious swatching escapade has opened my eyes to a simple truth about my knitting taste that may be at the root of this summer knitting funck. I miss wool! I’ve been working with cotton blends since January to prep for the debut release, and had very infrequent interactions with wool. I have actually learned to love some of the delightful cotten blends the fiber industry has to offer, but my reunion with wool  has reminded me of my first fiber love. This design project is one of my favorites types. Unlike the above two projects that got re-invented several times, started and pulled out several times and has generally tainted my normally sunny outlook on knitting life, this one has just flown together. I got some inspiration for a specific event that I wanted a particular type of garment for, I “happened” to be at my LYS the next day, found lustra in it’s luxurious grey colorway, and I had a full swatch by the end of the night. I finished the second swatch the next day. That may be one other thing I’ve been missing… worsted weight yarns on reasonable sized needles! I kinda forgot that 4.75 sts/in tends to go faster than 7 sts/in. I’m starting to think that lustra might be in my list of perfect NC yarn.

North Carolina is an interesting place to be a knitter. It does get cold here, quite cold, it’s not Canada (thank goodness), but we see a good month of sub-freezing weather. While winter is depressing, it’s the most rewarding season for the knitter, those wool socks and sweaters are so very, very wonderful on those freezing days. But the problem is, it’s only about three months that you get true enjoyment out of all your alpaca and other super heavy stuff. Which certainly makes your work worth it, but for most of the year, you really don’t have much use for those projects. However, NC has a long and gorgeous spring and fall, both of which certainly could use extra layers, even if they aren’t thick layers. I’ve started to appreciate the yarns that give me those extra layers while being lightweight and not too, too warm.

So, I’ve been rambling a bit, dear blog, but it’s so good to be back! It’s so good to see my knitting bag full of projects I can’t wait to work on and sheets full of notes for designs.

Check back soon! It won’t be long before some new designs start to show their pretty little faces!

Entry filed under: Knitting. Tags: , , , .

The extent of my current knitting It won’t be long now!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 50,139 hits

