I may have gone overboard

December 21, 2011 at 3:49 pm 1 comment

So… this is what I did today…

Remember, it’s just me and Chuck. No kids (yet!), no company, just us and about 10 dozen cookies. In my defense, I do plan to bring a good big batch to a party tonight, and I’ll bring a bunch to the in-laws in a few days too. So that should get rid of a lot of them. The thing is I could have totally gotten away with making one batch for tonight, and bringing none to the in-laws. So I really made about four times what I actually had to make.

I think it’s a bit of a psychological thing for me. Seriously, those cookies have a far better chance of them going stale than me eating every last one. It dawned on me during the last batch that I had no intention of eating more than a handful over the next week or so, and I wondered to myself what the heck I was doing.

Like I said, it’s a psychological reaction to a number of things.

1) I really, really miss my Mom and sisters when we don’t spend Christmas with them (and these were all the cookies she made).

2) Pregnancy has been a bit of a mid-life crisis at times. I just can’t believe how old I am (I know, I know, I haven’t seen anything yet, but compared to being 11, 27 is OLD). So I seem to be gravitating to things that put me in touch with my childhood, buying my favorite books for my little ones, making all my favorite cookies at christmas, you get the idea.

3) For some reason I haven’t had a lot to do for Christmas, Chuck and I already bought ourselves a large joint christmas present, and there just doesn’t seem to be the build up of anticipation that I’m used to. As a result I’m shocked at the amount of cynical, scrooge-ish thoughts that have been cluttering my christmas spirit. So I felt like I needed to do something to make sure that even if it doesn’t have the wonder that it did when I was 6 and got a doll I never ever thought I would get, I got in the christmas groove and even started developing the habits I needed to create the christmas experience for my kids that mom so wonderfully gave me.

Merry Christmas!

Entry filed under: Other Life Stuff. Tags: , .

Baby Knitting! Technique Tutorial: Improved Version of “Increase One into Next Stitch” (inc1/kfb)

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Elizabeth Ehresman  |  December 21, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    Hehe. You know, I was pondering a game night next week 🙂 Perhaps we can help out a bit with that over abundnace 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 49,810 hits

