“I Should…”

January 6, 2012 at 3:08 pm 2 comments

So, as I’ve re-engaged the blog/twitter-sphere post-holiday madness, I’ve noticed a flurry of New Years related posts and tweets regarding other knitters various resolutions. I’m really not much of a resolutions sort of person. I think any time is a good time to start something you should be doing, and that trying to stack a whole bunch of “I shoulds” at the beginning of the year just makes life overwhelming.

But it’s funny, there seems to be something about this time of year, when the idea of taking inventory and coming up with some new ideas is just contagious. Because I’ve been noticing a few very appropriate and not very burdonsome “I shoulds” collecting in the corners of my mind. Most of which I’ve already started acting on.

1) I’m in a blog-reading rut, I don’t think I’ve added any good blogs to my google reader in 2 years. The funny part is, pretty often, I scroll to my “favorite” blog section and get disappointed that my faves haven’t posted. There’s a pretty easy solution to that…add more to your favorites! For those who comment and leave a blog address, thank you! I’ll be spending a lot more time culling the blogosphere for some new reads and y’all are top of my list. If you read but don’t usually comment, would you mind “leaving your card”? I’d love to know what kinds of blogs my readers write and start keeping up with what you have to say this new year.

2) I have a love-hate relationship with Social networking. I love Facebook, and until recently could not “get” twitter, and ravelry is an interesting case for me too. I am a social person… I promise, but I have a very, very hard time engaging the virtual world, especially when it involves interacting with people I haven’t met. It seems there is a whole new set of social protocol that enables us to connect with and enjoy people we’ve never met but have tons of things in common with, and I just haven’t figured it out yet. Last week, I sat down and decided to give twitter a shot again, this time went really, really well! I actually connected with a couple people about improving my pattern schematics, found a couple new blogs, and favorited a few etsy shops with yummy, yummy yarn. So that leads me to my next “I should”. I should spend more time on twitter, I think it’ll keep me from being the excessively introverted knitter I seem to be turning into.

3) This one seems to be every bloggers resolution. I should post more. The thing is, this blog only becomes a burden when I don’t keep up with it. When more than a week goes by without a post, suddenly it’s a millstone around my neck and I’m grasping frantically at something, anything to write about. But when I post more, I feel like my inspiration for both knitting and writing gets a great little kick in the pants, and it’s quite thereputic.

4) If you listened to my podcast, this is a bit of a repeat. I’m going to say “yes” more often to a good idea, even if I have other things on the needles. I’m realizing how detrimental it is to squelch inspiration in the name of keeping to a schedule.

What are your knitterly “I shoulds” for 2012?

 

Entry filed under: Knitting. Tags: , .

Podcast Episode 4 – Harnessing Inspiration without Getting Disorganized And So My World Changes

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Betsy  |  January 6, 2012 at 6:03 pm

    Great post! I admit to being a lurker and not so much of a poster on here. You have some great ideas for the new year.

    I also have a blog that I would love you to follow. I’m not an exceptionally interesting person and I originally started it to keep people updated about the knit for Japan project. However, I found I was enjoying it.

    Here’s the link.

    http://Betsy-thesimplelifeofaqueen.blogspot.com

    Reply
    • 2. elegant economy  |  January 7, 2012 at 11:09 am

      I’m so glad you chimed in! I’ll be checking out your blog most definitely!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 49,610 hits

