Crafty Showcase: Day 1

March 29, 2012 at 10:35 am 3 comments

I know this is usually a knitting blog, but I actually do sew and quilt occasionally. Actually, once upon a time, when I was in high school, before the massive knitting revolution we’re enjoying, I used to quilt like a fiend. As we know, things have changed.

At one point during that quilting era, I got a delightful gift from my Aunt who herself was a phenomenal quilter. I was given a mystery quilt pattern and money to buy the fabric I wanted to make the pattern. I decided that since I had no home of my own and color scheme to be loyal to, that I would pick the craziest, cheeriest fabric I could find. Like many of my projects, I got a little ways and forgot about it, I revisited it in college and managed to finish the top. Then I decided the rest should be finished when I was married and a baby was on the way. The colors were so perfect for a little baby quilt. So it got set aside with all of it’s bits of scrap fabric and moved from home to home until 8 months ago when I discovered that I was blessed with not one, but two little ones.

So what was once just a highschool project has now become the centerpiece of my first baby nursery.

I have a friend of mine who owns a long-arm quilting business do the quilting. I think it turned out fabulous!

If any of you are quilters, I highly recommend her work. You can check out her work at BethanyQuilts.com.

 

Entry filed under: My Home. Tags: , , , , .

Crafty Baby Prep Crafty Showcase: Day 2

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sartenada  |  March 30, 2012 at 12:43 am

    It is awesome quilt on the wall!

    Reply
  • 2. chopkins2011  |  April 1, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    What a beautiful quilt – lovely for your babies’ room. I have just checked out your friends blog too but she is far to far away for my next quilt 😦

    Reply
    • 3. elegant economy  |  April 1, 2012 at 4:42 pm

      She actually does have people ship quilts to her, as far as I know. I think she did a quilt for someone in switzerland once!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 49,587 hits

