When Inspiration Strikes

May 18, 2012 at 12:55 pm Leave a comment

Inspiration strikes at the weirdest times. While I was working, I could think of nothing else but some mythical sweater that I wanted to make. I would sketch schematics, dream up stitch patterns, sometimes even do some swatching…but those ideas rarely materialized. Then when I quit my job, had hours and hours all to myself, all I managed to do was knit maybe three of the ideas that had been brewing in my head while working, and I generated virtually no new ideas. It was really disappointing and demoralizing.

What I find hilarious now is that all I can do is think about starting a new sweater for myself. A beachy cardi, with a lacy, maybe loosely cabled stitch pattern, made out of a lightweight cotton, or even just the right wool. I just spent the last 30 minutes culling my Barbara Walker stitch dictionaries to find the perfect motif.

There must be something about not having enough time for knitting that makes you value the time you do get to spend so much more. Quite frankly, though my productivity is down, I’m enjoying my knitting hobby so much more these days.

Pardon me… a little person is about to have a melt down if he doesn’t get his lunch. 🙂

Entry filed under: Knitting. Tags: .

A “Go To” Yarn Roundup A Little Process Knitting

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 50,137 hits

