Sock the Vote! Contest and Giveaway!

August 1, 2012 at 9:10 am 13 comments

I blogged about Melissa at Single Handed Knits a couple of weeks ago. And I can’t tell you how much I’ve enjoyed that little ravelry community. Melissa has a talent for organizing some very cool Knit Alongs (KALs) and other events, and the KAL that’s coming up is no exception! This next KAL will run during the last month of the election which nicely coincides with socktober. She’s organizing us into knitting “parties”. Everyone participating will order one of three different kits, and when you order one you’re committing to a “party”, the Toe-Up party, the Cuff-Down party, or the “Undecided”. You should totally go check out the KAL at her site and join! It’s going to be barrels of fun during a season that would probably be pretty irritating, no matter what your political philosophies are. That’s all I’m going to say about real politics since NO political chatter is allowed at all in this KAL!

Here’s where the contest comes in. I need help deciding which party to join. Here’s how you’re gonna help me out:

1.) Place your vote for which party I should join in the poll box below.

2.) Comment on this blog post with your Ravelry name and a link to the sock pattern you recommend. This is important, I can’t enter you in the give-away if you don’t comment. I’d prefer if it was a paid pattern since I’d like to take the opportunity to support an indy sock designer.

This is going to be a super quick contest. Since the kits go on sale Friday 6pm ET (noon hawaiian time), that’s when the EE polls will close. I’ll randomly select a winner from the comments and they’ll receive a sock pattern of their choice from Ravelry.

A couple thoughts to help you decide how to vote. Traditionally, I’m a cuff-downer, but I’m also up for broadening my horizons by doing something toe-up. Also, undecided can also mean a totally different, non-traditional sock knitting method. So if you want to suggest something totally crazy-pants, I’m all up for that too!

The race is on!

Entry filed under: Knitting, Polls. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Opinions on Social Media The Results are In!

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  August 1, 2012 at 11:58 am

    I have never knit socks and am opting for toe up socks (since that’s what Melissa first tried from SHK). I think this looks like a good, basic pattern. http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/autopilot-sock-recipe (sorry I don’t know how to hyperlink on the iPad). Thanks! Stephanie (indigodogmt on Rav)

    Reply
  • 2. Chrissy Howard  |  August 1, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    I would suggest the breaking hearts pattern on Ravelry by Christi H. Brockway. Fun pattern to knit and the gussett is neat.

    My rav name is choward06

    Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  August 1, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    I am totally Cuff Down Party – and Would recommend – http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/pillars-of-strength – Pillars of Strength Socks, not only does it support an indy and my best knitter friend, but all proceeds are donated to breast cancer research. (She does have another designs that support other causes too!)

    *I also want to promote the breaking hearts socks just cuz they look fun*

    ❤ Sarah – Rainlover on Ravelry

    Reply
  • 4. Randi (GMaggie on Ravelry)  |  August 1, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    Hi, I recommend toe-up sock party using Socks on a Plane. http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/socks-on-a-plane

    Reply
  • 5. Kathy / woolyeyes  |  August 1, 2012 at 8:41 pm

    I did some searching for paid patterns that would work got hand painted yarns. How about the Magischer Baum (Magic Tree) patten by Regina Satta? It’s got cables and twists and looks good with a
    variegated.

    Reply
  • 6. teri  |  August 2, 2012 at 1:36 am

    Gotta go with the “Cuffies”. Like I mentioned on Mel’s group on Ravelry… there are some fun patterns with unique cuffs like the Breaking Hearts pattern :
    http://www.ravelry.com/projects/teri-knits/breaking-hearts-socks-2

    Reply
  • 7. Kristine Beeson (@kdlb)  |  August 2, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    I voted toe-up, I’m “kristine” on ravelry 🙂 I posted some ideas on the toe-up group earlier. Another one I knit and loved (until I wore them out – I plan to reknit the pattern at some point with sturdier yarn than Malebrigo Sock!) is True Love Socks: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/true-love-socks

    Reply
  • 8. emptyknitster  |  August 2, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    Join the Cuffie Party – we’re TOPS!

    Reply
  • 9. Melissa  |  August 2, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    I say BE UNDECIDED! Then you can leave everyone wondering what you plan to do…I love be left longing…
    My suggestion: (and I am dead serious) Blend together 2 different patterns. No, I don’t know how you could do it, but it would be an awesome mental challenge (something I eagerly search out every day to ward off the mundane hubdrubbery…) I say: think of a connection, for example say The Knit Girllls. Leslie has Georgia on my Mind ( http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/georgia-on-my-mind-2 ) and LaLa has Socks On A Plane http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/socks-on-a-plane Somehow fuse the two together and get Socks In The Air With Georgia On The Brain. Neither of these are paying patterns, just an example, but possibilities are amazing!

    Reply
  • 10. Diana Feather  |  August 3, 2012 at 8:19 am

    I vote cuff-down. I like the Persephone’s Return sock by Laura Linneman.

    Reply
  • 11. Paula  |  August 3, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    I am in the Cuff Down party but I am easily swayed. A sock I would like to knit is the Breaking Hearts Socks by Cristi Brockway.
    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/breaking-hearts-socks

    Reply
  • 12. connieb125  |  August 3, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    I vote Undecided and suggest http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/oceanic

    Reply
  • 13. susan inouye  |  August 5, 2012 at 10:10 am

    Go undecided….!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit My Ravelry Page Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook Subscribe with RSS Follow Me on Pinterest

Archives

August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 49,587 hits

